We are opening up the vault! Music Director, Morihiko Nakahara is choosing his favorite performances and we will share the recordings from our archive with you to enjoy at home.

Over the upcoming weeks, we will post great performances by the South Carolina Philharmonic, pulled from the archive of recordings of concerts at the Koger Center for the Arts. We’re grateful to have the opportunity to continue sharing music with you during these unprecedented times.

Special Livestream - Friday, July 17

Music Director, Morihiko Nakahara, hosts a livestream conversation with all four composers in the 'Made in the USA' playlist below. They will discuss their work, process, and how it's changed during the time of COVID-19, what American music means to them, and more. 

Viewers will be able to comment and ask questions in real-time.

When: Friday, July 17, 2020 - 5 PM EST / 2 PM PDT
Where: Simulcast streaming on our YouTube and Facebook pages

Stream on YouTube here:

Andy Akiho, based in Portland, OR
John Fitz Rogers, based in Columbia, SC
Jessie Montgomery, based in New York, NY
Adam Schoenberg, based in Los Angeles, CA

Get links for all of the videos used in the stream here. 

From the Archive:


Adam Schoenberg Go

Andy Akiho Tarnished Mirrors

Jessie Montgomery Records of a Vanishing City

John Fitz Rogers The Passing Sun

SC Philharmonic · Made in the USA
A note from Morihiko about this playlist:

The phrase “American Music” in the orchestral world often brings to our mind and inner ears the music of Copland, Bernstein, and Gershwin. For this month’s special edition of “From the Archives,” I decided to highlight, instead, some of my favorite American composers whose works I have been programming and conducting frequently in South Carolina and elsewhere.

American music of both past and present continues to be an essential ingredient in our programs. Although we are not quite ready to announce our finalized plans for the upcoming season, I can share with you that we will be featuring works by Reena Esmail (in partnership with the Columbia Museum of Art’s upcoming “Visions from India” exhibit), James Lee III (my high school classmate whose compositions have been performed by leading orchestras around the country), and Florence Price (a trailblazing African-American composer from the early 20th century), to name a few.

Today’s American orchestral music is diverse and vibrant as America itself, and I hope that these archival recordings and the upcoming video chat will pique your curiosity and become a starting point for your musical adventures.

Morihiko Nakahara
Music Director & Conductor