Mendelssohn’s “Scottish” Symphony

Season opening concert featuring Felix & Fanny Mendelssohn, Vivaldi, and Andrea Gabrieli/Mark Scatterday.

Guest Artist
Mary Lee Taylor Kinosian, Ashley Horvat, Damir Horvat, Sophie Wang, violins


October 9, 2021
Koger Center for the Arts Ticket Info >

Join us for the return of our Masterworks Series at the Koger Center for the Arts. The first concert of our 2021/2022 season features siblings Felix & Fanny Mendelssohn, as well as a Vivaldi violin concerto and an Aria by Andrea Gabrieli and Mark Scatterday.

Purchase Individual Tickets for Mendelssohn's "Scottish" Symphony

Program Overview


Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel: Overture in C Major

Andrea Gabrieli/Mark Scatterday: Aria della battaglia

Vivaldi: Concerto for Four Violins in B minor, RV 580
Mary Lee Taylor Kinosian, Ashley Horvat, Damir Horvat, Sophie Wang, violins

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in A minor, op. 56, “Scottish”



The Koger Center for the Arts is located in downtown Columbia at the corner of Assembly and Greene Streets, 1051 Greene Street.

Parking is available at the Discovery Garage behind the facility and usually costs around $10. Accessible parking is located on Park Street.

Additional garages and street parking are located at least one block away, which is a further walk to the theater but may help you avoid the pre-concert rush. View a parking map.

Valet Parking
Valet parking is offered at all Masterworks concerts. The drop off location is in front of the USC School of Music off College Street.

By Soda Cap Connector
The free Soda Cap Connector by the Comet (Route 1) has added a stop on College Street beside Koger Center! You can take the bus to and from the concert for free and avoid the hassle of parking all together! Comet map.

Thanks to Our Sponsors


Concert Sponsor
Dr. Todd Kolb in honor of Ollie Bear Thompson

Notes for Notes Sponsors
Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel:  Overture in C Major | Sponsored in memory of Selma Thorn Jones
Andrea Gabrieli/Mark Scatterday:  Aria della battaglia | Sponsored by Phyllis & Ron Davis
Vivaldi: Concerto for Four Violins | Sponsored by Kate & Ray Craig in honor of their 1st wedding anniversary

New to Symphonic Music?


Here are a few pointers on what to expect. 

Other Ways to Purchase


There are other ways to purchase single concert tickets through the Koger Center Box Office.

By Phone

  • Charge by phone at 803.251.2222.
  • Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday – Friday.
  • American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa accepted.
  • Additional charges applicable.
  • Single tickets are not available through the SC Philharmonic office.

In-Person at the Koger Center

  • Located at 806 Park St., Columbia SC 29201
  • Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday - Friday.
  • Accept cash, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa.
  • No additional fees for in-person purchases.

Concert Night

  • Purchase any remaining tickets at the Koger Center ticket kiosk on concert night starting one hour before each concert.

Get more out of your purchase!

Getting season tickets will give you access to more benefits.

Learn More >