South Carolina Philharmonic


Masterworks 4 - Beethoven & Blue Jeans


Saturday, 7:30 p.m.
Koger Center for the Arts


Mozart - Overture to Don Giovanni          
Osvaldo Golijov - Sidereus
(Henry Fogel Commission Consortium)           

Beethoven - Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"               

Thoughts from Morihiko:

“Put on your favorite pair of Levis, or otherwise dress casual, and join us for some serious fun! Tonight we’re unveiling a brand new work by Argentine-American composer Osvaldo Golijov, one of the leading living composers, whose style effectively blends such diverse elements as tango, Klezmer, Gypsy dances and techno. The SCP is among a consortium of 35 orchestras nationwide to commission and premiere this exciting work. Our annual survey of Beethoven’s symphonies continues with "Eroica" – a true epic that changed the history of music. Beethoven originally intended to dedicate this symphony to Napoleon, but angrily changed it to a more general hero after Napoleon proclaimed himself as emperor.”

Have you considered season subscriptions?

Tickets on sale now: $44, $36, $26, $16 or $12. Student and military discounts available.
All tickets subject to $1 Koger Restoration Fee.
Purchase through Capitol Tickets at the Carolina Coliseum, by calling 803.251.2222 or online.
Additional charges apply to all phone and Internet orders.

Going to the concert?

Programs, artists, dates and times subject to change.

« Back to List of Events